Fenced block but not fenced code block

Although I am a programmer and often use the fenced code block, I am also working with a team on a CMS where people write articles that have nothing to do with coding. Instead, we often would like to use an inset with a quote or setlist of the songs a band played or the difference between the answers and questions in an interview.

I know Markdown (and ParseDown and the likes) and the CommonMark are supposed to be generic, but objectively speaking (also when trying to explain to non-programmers), the fenced code block is rather specific to coding.

I am working on an extension of ParseDown to make this work but would love to see this picked up in a broader sense.

At the moment I picked three dots plus a class name as the format. It’s a block so needs to be closed as well. Examples:

... setlist
Song 1
Another song
... question
How are you?
... answer
OK, thanks.

My team members who are not programmers understand this format and are happy to work with it. It offers them just enough to help the editors out and make the article readable.

From a technical point of view I would prefer this, since the regular fenced code block always produces a <code> tag. We could use fenced code blocks with a class and in CSS negate the monospaced font settings.

Another point of view could be to let the fenced code block not produce a <code> tag but a <div>. There are indeed one or two examples where I would need a monospaced block but that could be solved by adding a class to the <div>.

So, I am interested in learning what others think of this or how others would solve this.

Using > will create <blockquote> elements that are appropriate for quotes.

As far as other elements, there are a number of other proposed extensions.

This one covers attributes:

This one covers a generic block syntax

This one covers generic plugins

This one covers <aside>