Explicit anchors/labels for numberable items

Hi
I’m a researcher who wants also to publish his papers as ebooks, true e-pub format, allowing reflowing of pages dependent upon screen size of the e-paper device, the user selected font, font size, margin … .

CommonMark is one of the two most promising source formats. Amongst others i do miss a way to add explicit tags/labels/anchors to numerable items, such as Headers, Images (captions), tables (captions), code blocks (captions), Numbered items, etc.

Maybe this is already possible without resorting to HTML but i do not get how. The only discussion i have found which is related to this is the discussion about auto generated anchors for headings. For my needs this is on one hand too limited to headers only and second I do not need for every header an anchor just for selected ones and i would need them also for Images or image captions which should flow along with the image or table and sometimes it is necessary to reference from text list items, eg when describing a work flow, or even put text on top of an image to label elements within an image which than can be referenced from the preceding and following text.

All in all i would prefer if I explicitly could control the anchor for those numerable Items i want to explicitly reference inside the text without the need to put the full url.

Would that be possible by existing reference links by just using the html anchor part inside the link but how to use this to define the header, image, table, etch to be the anchor destination

Greeting
Xristoph

I’ve been working on a couple markdown post-processors to handle tasks that aren’t covered by markdown but can still be handled automatically.

One of the post-processors that I’ve started on handles ID generation for headers. This could easily be expanded to work for various other element types. So far I have the beginnings of a PHP version (ID8PHP). I have plans to make a JS lib for this as well.