Intended fields of application for CommonMark/Markdown

Hi guys,

first a short disclaimer. I’m following the discussions here for only for a few days and I have limited experience with Markdown myself, I just use it as a file format for richtext documents. So, please bear with me.

I would like to get a grasp of where the community sees CommonMark/Markdown in the future.

As far as I get it, it was developed to have a simple way for writing blog posts. But this extended over time and now we have complete publishing solutions for various media based on Markdown. Obviously this imposes new needs and new user groups.

What user groups should write Markdown in your opinion?

• Just web or software developers who know other programming and markup languages and are happy to have a simpler way to type their forum or blog posts?
  • Would you aim for a general wiki markup, and have tech savvy users?
  • Shall it be simple and forgiving enough to serve even casual users?

From some topics I get the impression that it should also be strong enough to handle nearly every formatting and embedding task (without html fallback) which imposes of course constraints on the simplicity.

Which are the fields of application you’re aiming for?

• Blog and forum posts
  • Web site creation
  • Publishing (ebook, print)
  • Common writing tasks, like word processors

It would be very nice, if you could show me where you are heading with CommonMark/Markdown.

Regards
Mike

1 Like

I would want to see this be adopted more in places like government, and office workers.

I could imagine productivity would increase, if people did not have to worry about how pretty the layout is (Except at the final stage of publishing).

In general I would like to see a “core syntax” with “profiles/flavors” declared by “document declarations” that can be done either as a sitewide declaration (like blog or forum post), or per document (reports, emails).